management of the Canadian forces and all matters relating to national defence and for construction and maintenance of all defence establishments and facilities required to defend Canada.

The deputy minister is the senior public servant in the department and the principal civilian adviser to the minister on all departmental affairs. He is responsible for ensuring that all policy direction from the government is reflected in the administration of the department and in military plans and operations. The chief of the defence staff is the senior military adviser to the minister and is charged with the control and administration of the forces. He is responsible for the effective conduct of military operations and the readiness of the Canadian forces to meet the commitments assigned to them by the government.

A defence council, consisting of the minister of national defence as chairman, his parliamentary secretary, the deputy minister of national defence, the chief of the defence staff, the vice-chief and the deputy chief of the defence staff, the assistant deputy minister (policy), and the commanders of maritime command, mobile command and air command, meets as required to consider and advise on major policy matters. Defence Construction Canada reports to Parliament through the minister of national defence.

National Design Council (Design Canada). The council was established by an act of Parliament in 1961 (RSC 1970, c.N-5) to promote and expedite improvement of design in the products of Canadian industry. The council makes recommendations on design policies and programs, and works with departments and agencies of the federal government, regional governments and other private and institutional bodies on design-related issues.

Council-sponsored activities include awards for design excellence, scholarships, publications, exhibits and design management seminars; all intended toward the promotion of product design in Canadian industry. Design Canada (regional and industrial expansion) serves as the administrative and program implementation arm of the council. The council has 17 members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and reports through its chairman to the minister of regional and industrial expansion.

National Emergency Planning Establishment (Emergency Planning Canada). In April 1974, Canada Emergency Measures Organization (EMO), the federal co-ordinating agency for civil emergency planning, became the National Emergency Planning Establishment, commonly known since 1975 as Emergency Planning Canada (EPC). EMO was originally created to initiate and co-ordinate the civil aspects of defence policy delegated to federal departments and agencies to meet the threat of nuclear war.

Emergency Planning Canada has an extended role to co-ordinate and assist planning to ensure that the federal government is ready to meer the effects of natural or man-made disasters. Such planning is part of the normal responsibilities of federal government departments, Crown corporations and agencies. An EPC regional director in each provincial capital maintains contact with other federal departments and with provincial and municipal governments.

EPC promotes emergency preparedness of the federal government and encourages other levels of government to plan by providing grants for approved emergency planning projects; makes arrangements for federal assistance to provinces to offset costs resulting from emergencies; sponsors courses for representatives from the public and private sectors; and conducts an information and research program.

Civil emergency preparedness extends beyond the borders of Canada to nations abroad, including the US and NATO countries. The assistant secretary to the cabinet for emergency planning represents Canada on the NATO senior civil emergency planning committee and the director general (plans) on the civil defence committee. Although attached for purposes of administrative support to the defence department, the agency receives ministerial direction from the president of the Privy Council.

National Energy Board. This board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 (RSC 1970, c.N-6). The board is a court of record. Its regulatory responsibilities under the National Energy Board Act encompass mainly the licensing of exports of oil and oil products, natural gas and gas products, electricity, and the licensing of imports of gas and heavy fuel oil; the certification of interprovincial and international pipelines and international and designated interprovincial power lines; the authorization for pipelines to cross or be crossed by public utilities; the control of the safety of these pipelines; and the regulation of the tolls and tariffs of pipeline companies under federal jurisdiction. In addition, the board administers certain aspects of the Energy Administration Act and the Northern Pipeline Act. The board advises the government on matters relating to energy.

National Farm Products Marketing Council. Established in 1972 under the Farm Products Marketing Agencies Act (SC 1972, c.65), the council consults with producers, commodity boards, processors, consumer groups, and provincial and federal governments, and co-ordinates their views on the establishment and operation of national marketing agencies. It assists and supervises the operations of agencies and promotes more effective marketing of farm products in interprovincial and export trade. The goal is to maintain and promote an efficient, competitive and expanding agricultural industry, and to have due regard for the interests of those affected by the operations of national agencies such as the Canadian egg marketing agency, the Canadian turkey marketing agency and the Canadian chicken marketing agency.

The council consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman, and six other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and is directly responsible to the minister of agriculture. Council headquarters is in Ottawa.

National Film Board. The board, established in 1939, operates under the National Film Act (RSC 1970, c.N-7) which provides for a board of governors of nine members: a government film commissioner, appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who is chairman of the board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The board reports to Parliament through the minister of communications. It is responsible for advising the Governor-in-Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national